Rachel is a 17 year old girl who was caught in the middle of the protests on Thursday. Her full account can be found here, but here is an extract:

According to Rachel, after begging in tears to be let out, she and her friends got through one police line but were then halted by another.

“We were traumatised at this point. We were crying. We’d been hit by police for just wanting to go home. We were begging to, please, just let us go home. They showed no mercy whatsoever.

“Then we got pushed forward a second time and as we were going forward we were saying ‘please don’t hurt us, just don’t hurt us, we want to go home’.

“I managed to break away. I was pushed into a ditch by a police officer and when I tried to get out of the ditch he pushed me back in.

“I turned around to see a group of my friends on the floor getting beaten by police officers.

“I received a text later from a friend who didn’t manage to escape, saying that he was thrown to the floor by the neck. He was beaten on the floor by three police officers until he was throwing up blood and when that happened they just threw him aside and didn’t give him any medical attention and went on to the next one.”

 

 

