Shiv Malik is a journalist who was struck on the head, then denied help, by police officers in Parliament Square. He gives his account here.

“Then, basically, a baton strike came to the side of my face and then onto the top of my head. Directly onto the crown of my head. I felt a big whacking thud and I heard it reverberating inside my head.”

“I wasn’t sure whether I was bleeding or not. I moved off to the side and asked a police officer if I was bleeding. But he just said ‘Keep moving, keep moving”. Then I put my hand to the top of my head and looked at my palm and I could see there was blood everywhere.”

“I then asked another police officer, who was wearing a police medic badge, if he could help me. And he told me to move away as well and told me to go to another exit.”

Denied medical attention following a baton strike to the head (familiar?) by a Police Medic. On what justification?

